top of page
shorteez 4a.jpg


Regattas: About Us

Notice of Instructions

"Notice of Race, Sailing Instructions, Skipper and Crew Release Forms and Registrations all at CPYC Jibeset Webpage 

All races free to CPYC Members in good standing.

Regattas: Text


Brrrr Rabbit

This is the first race of the year.  Shake off that grogginess from last night’s party by going out on the water.

Double Up and Back

Race between CPYC and Hunter’s Point (course to be determined).  Two divisions: Double handed and full crewed.

 John Pitcher Memorial Race

In memory of John Pitcher, a CPYC sailor who passed away while racing aboard his Pearson in the late 1960’s.  The race is open to ALL boats berthed in Coyote Point Marina, whether the boat owners are members of not.

Stars & Stripes

An Independence Day weekend tradition.

Kay & Dave Few Regatta

Dave and Kay Few were active sailors throughout the 70’s and 80s.  In this race, a woman must be at the helm at least 50% of the time of the race, and the crew must be at least 50% women.

Andy Byrd Memorial Pursuit Race

In memory of past commodore Andrew Byrd (1947-48) and a founding member, Andrew Byrd was one of the members responsible for securing the original clubhouse and the land.  The perpetual trophy race began in 1976; regardless of the winner’s club affiliation, the trophy is to always remain at Coyote Point Yacht Club.

Barth Race

The oldest of the CPYC regattas is named for Gustav Barth, one of the founding members of CPYC. Barth provided the trophy specifically for the purpose of attracting North and Central Bay boaters to the South Bay.  By the 1950s, the race had become a popular activity, with sometimes over 50 boats participating.  As demographics and interests changed, the Barth race too, changed course.  It is now a friendly competition between Sequoia Yacht Club and CPYC, with each club hosting the start on alternating years.  The race is scored on a point system, based both on which club has the winning boat and which club has the most entrants.

Jerry O’Grady Single-handed Race

Jerry O’Grady was a “living legend” of single handing, and could often be found sailing his boat on almost every day of the year, rain or shine.  Even his boat was named Solo, which he sailed out the harbor and towards the airport on a near-daily basis.  One day, he sailed out the gate to the lightship and back.  Jerry O’Grady passed away in 1990, and the race was named in his honor.

Frank Ballentine Memorial Pursuit Race

Frank Ballentine Memorial Pursuit Race

Merton Yolles Memorial Race

In memory of past Commodore Merton Yolles, who loved sailing his Ericson 32, “Tranquility.”  Mr. Yolles was killed in a pedestrian-auto accident in 1973.  His family donated the trophy, which hangs on the wall of the regatta room.

Commodore’s Cup

First held in 1980, the race is traditionally held in the fall, as the commodore’s term nears completion.  The race is held over a course that is “sometimes weird,” and the current commodore is always asked to sail on the previous year’s boat.  The race concludes with a dinner (a “roast” or tribute dinner) in the commodore’s honor that night.

Regattas: List

2023 Club Regatta Races

Coyote Point Yacht Club invites sailboats to join our 2023 Club Regatta Series!   All skippers and crew are welcome to join us inside the CPYC clubhouse before and after the races.  

12:00 Skippers meeting in clubhouse downstairs Regatta Room

13:00 Race Start

~16:00 Club open after race for socializing

*January 1 – Brrrr Rabbit

*February 4 – Double Up and Back 

*March 4 – John Pitcher Memorial Race

March 11 – Spring Shorteez Regatta

*April 1 – Andy Byrd Memorial Pursuit Race

*May 6 – Frank Ballentine Memorial Pursuit Race** 

*June 3 – Merton Yolles Memorial Race

*July 4 – Stars & Stripes

*August 5 – Kay & Dave Few Regatta

*September 9 – Jerry O’Grady Single-handed Race****

September 16 - Bart’s Bash Fundraiser

*October 14 – Barth Race***

October 28 – Fall Shorteez Regatta 

*November 4 – Commodore’s Cup

*part of 2023 series

** Frank Ballentine Race reverse handicap start, time on distance scoring

*** Barth Race will be jointly hosted by Coyote Point YC and Sequoia

**** Jerry O’Grady Race will be sailed non-spinnaker

Regattas: Text

What You Need to Know

Registration and Sailing Instructions

Notice of Race, Sailing Instructions, Skipper and Crew Release Forms and Registrations all at CPYC Jibeset Webpage "

Post Race Festivities

After the race, come relax with your fellow sailors at the CPYC clubhouse and bar! Events after each individual race will vary, but may include cookouts, potluck dinners, live entertainment, etc. Details will be announced prior to each race. Race results will be announced after the race (assuming no pending protest).

Shorteez Races

Open to boats with 180+ PHRF ratings

Interclub Series

Most races in the Interclub series take place in the South Bay, with starts off of Alameda. This great series is open to members of Aeolian YC, Alameda YC, Catalina 34 Fleet 1, Encinal YC, Island YC, Oakland YC, South Beach YC, Treasure Island YC, BAMA, Ballena Bay Yacht Club and of course, Coyote Point YC.

The series consists of six races with one throw out. The race dates are TBD, but are usually the second Saturday of each month


Guest dock/berthing may be available for Friday and Saturday nights. Contact the CPYC Regatta Chair or Port Captain

Regattas: FAQ
bottom of page